Anne Popham

Jekyll Island

Area Info

The southernmost of The Golden Isles was named by James Oglethorpe for Sir Joseph Jekyll, a major contributor to Oglethorpe’s voyage from England. The island was acquired by Christolphe Poulain du Bignon in 1800. He set up a cotton plantation and raised his family. In 1886 the island was purchased by a group of wealthy families as a private retreat. By 1900, The Jekyll Island Club membership included members from some of the nation’s leading families, Rockefeller, Vanderbilt, Morgan, Pulitzer, Crane and Gould. These families represented over one-sixth of the world’s wealth. The Club closed in 1942 and Jekyll Island was purchased by the State of Georgia in 1947.

Whether your interest is in history, nature, recreation or just relaxing Jekyll Island has plenty to offer. An abundance of recreational activities, white sand beaches, 20+ miles of bicycle trails, 63 holes of golf, a tennis center, a water park and much more. Explore Jekyll Island’s history by visiting Jekyll Island Club National Historic Landmark District. Also located in the historic district is the Georgia Sea Turtle Center. It is the only center in Georgia that can care for ill and injured sea turtles.